Torah Stories You Thought You Knew: Introduction to Rabbinic Midrash

Contact Person Name: 
Rosemarie Bodur
Contact Person Email: 
Date and Time: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday 7 times except Wed Oct 02 2019, Wed Oct 09 2019, Wed Oct 16 2019, Wed Oct 23 2019.
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 11:30am
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 11:30am
Event Type: 
Event Description: 

The sages of the Rabbinic period shaped the way the Jewish tradition looks

at the Bible. Their manner of interpretation is known as midrash. This

course will explore how the rabbinic sages interpreted key stories in the

Torah, with attention to the textual, historical, religious and literary tools

necessary to access this body of literature.

The text reading will be examined in English translation, with attention paid

to Hebrew as relevant. This course is based on material prepared by Rabbi

Mordechai Silverstein of the Conservative Yeshiva.

Wednesdays, 11:30am - 12:45pm

Gantz Library

September 4: Avraham and the Idol Shop

September 11: The Slaying of Abel by Cain

September 18: The Significance of Abraham

September 25: The Sins of Sodom and Gomorrah

October 30: The Binding of Isaac

November 6: The Burning Bush

November 13: The Struggle Over Who Would Enter the Sea

 

All sessions taught by Rabbi Ben Goldberg.

Feel free to bring your own nut-free dairy or pareve lunch.

Free and open to the community.

Contact Person Phone: 
9149391004
Event Location: 
Other Location: 
575 King Street
Port Chester, NY 10573
United States